Radio news

Vision Australia Radio nabs broadcasting award for excellence

04 November 2022

Congratulations to Vision Australia Radio for winning the Excellence in Outside Broadcasting’ Award at the recent Community Broadcasting Association of Australia (CBAA) Awards.

The network picked up the award for its 2021 VIC Disability & Sports Recreation Festival broadcast.

The festival broadcast featured interviews with local inclusive sporting groups, event organisers and community participants with the key goal of promoting community participation.

Vision Australia Radio network manager, Conrad Browne said the station was thrilled to receive the award as it highlighted the network’s commitment to providing a voice to unrepresented people in the community.

Sam Colley holds the award
Sam Colley holding his CBAA award. 

‘A prime ethos of community broadcasting is full community inclusion. While Vision Australia Radio will always be dedicated to its community of interest (people who are blind or have low vision) our connections and relationships with the broader disability community is an embodiment of this ethos.’

‘As this event was held on International Day of People with Disability, it was important to provide an opportunity and a platform to hear from both disability organisations and individuals with lived experience.’

Conrad gave particular praise Vision Australia Radio staff involved in the broadcast.

‘The calibre of nominees in this award was exceptional, so to win was a testament to strong staff collaboration. In particular to Matt Lee and Sam Colley who both brought their perspective of lived experience to the broadcast.’

Listen to the 2021 VIC Disability & Sports Recreation Festival broadcast Vision Australia Radio podcast here

Criteria for the award

The CBAA entry for this award was judged on several criteria: programming is informative, entertaining and engaging for their community interest; high quality production values; meets a community need; and takes advantage of opportunities unavailable via traditional in-studio programming.

View the full list of winners